Jump to Content

Back to Navigation

United States

The U.S. makes extensive use of minimum standards, endorsement labels, and comparative labels to improve the energy efficiency of equipment and appliances.

The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Appliances and Commercial Equipment Standards Program develops test procedures and minimum efficiency performance standards (MEPS) for residential appliances and commercial equipment. The first appliance standards were enacted in 1987, and since that time a series of laws and DOE regulations have established, and periodically updated, energy efficiency or water use standards for over 50 categories of appliances and equipment used in the residential, commercial and industrial sectors.

Read More



Policy Database

There are 185 Policies related to United States in the S&L Database


View All


View All

CLASP Expands its Policy Capacity with Three New Hires

CLASP continues to grow, and recently added three new staff members in the Washington, DC office to expand its capabilities and scale around energy efficiency policy and analysis. One new associate mo...


View All

CLASP and Partners’ Computer Analyses Provide New Insights for US Energy Efficiency Policies

In an effort to support the California Energy Commission (CEC) and the US Department of Energy (DOE) in developing new energy efficiency standards for computers, CLASP collected and analyzed computer ...


View All

Moving Forward Together

In celebration of CLASP's 20th anniversary, each month we profile one of our team members. This month we hear from Eric Gibbs, Chief Policy & Analysis Officer. It’s entirely appropriate that as th...